Trading Fresh Water for Salt Water

A month ago I was in the Chicago suburbs, checking to make sure I had everything packed in my two suitcases and a backpack. After surveying the house a few times my sister and I decided I had everything, and if not she would send it later. We grabbed my bags and headed to the car. It was a cool morning and I was glad I remembered my sweatshirt, or rather I was glad my sister was paying attention to the weather (thanks sis!).
The first stop was the bank, to get out money for traveling and deposit a check. After that we stopped at Norma’s, my sister got her coffee and banana bread, and I got my earl grey chai. Yes, I said earl grey chai, I know it may sound odd, but it is one of the best things on earth! And I’ve only ever seen it a Norma’s, the small local coffee shop down the street from my sister’s place.
As my sister drove towards the highway I texted friends on my phone. One of them asked me if this (my moving) felt real yet? I said no. He asked when I was leaving. I laughed and told him I was on my way to the airport. He was amused and couldn’t believe that it didn’t feel real yet. Honestly, I couldn’t either, I was on my way to the airport and I wasn’t nervous or anxious at all; I was calm, it was like any other day.
Even as I waited in the airport I was calm, cool, and collected. I guess I travel enough (though I’d love to travel more), and have moved enough, that for me, packing up and moving 1000 plus miles away in two weeks is no big deal. As I waited in the terminal I took the opportunity to wander around, and post a few updates on FB. I also did a fair amount of people watching. It’s fun to see how people interact, or don’t.
My flights were uneventful. On my last flight I had a whole row to myself! So I stretched out and took a much-needed nap. On the flight I also met a family, that had lived in various parts of the world that were moving to Hawaii. The children were well-behaved and super cute! The boy loved the dried cherries I shared with him, and the girl liked the fudge.
When I got off the plane I was glad I had packed the sweatshirt away. It was hot! Yes, I know, Hawaii’s a tropical island, it’s bound to be warm; but I spent the day on cold airplanes, and came from a mild Michigan summer. I rolled up my pant legs and made my way to bagged claim. I collected my bags and went outside to meet my ride. The sun was blindingly bright, so I rummaged through my bag and found my sun glasses. A minute or two later my boss showed up and I loaded my things into the van and climbed in.
The air-conditioned ride from the airport to my new home was nice. I looked out at the ocean, as we twisted and turned up and down cliffs, and was impressed by the amount of trees on the drive. It only took about 30 to 45 minutes to make it from the airport to Lahaina. When I got to my new house, my boss helped me take my things in, then bid me farewell until tomorrow. One of my house mates gave me a tour of the house, then let me unpack a few things. Before long she came back and asked me if I wanted to go down to the beach and watch the sunset, I of course said yes!
We wandered down the street to a small pathway that led to the ocean. The sound of the waves were reassuring and relaxing. Due to moving and unpacking things I was covered in sweat, so we waded into the water, it was cool and refreshing. We stood there, the waves lapping at our legs and talked. It was cloudy, so the sunset was masked, so after a few minutes we wandered back home, where I continued to settle in.
Since getting here I have found a more permanent place to live (yay!), gotten a bike, and gone swimming in the ocean several times. The waves in the ocean are so much bigger than I am used to, though there have been some impressive waves on Lake Michigan. And when you swallow the water from the ocean, it tastes kinda funny (though I suppose if you are used to the ocean you would say lake water tastes funny). I have yet to go snorkeling or surfing, but those will happen in time. I love not having a car! Yes, it makes shopping a little harder (that’s what baskets and backpacks are for), and I don’t always venture as far… But I can feel my leg muscles coming back, and I’m starting to feel more in shape.
I’m meeting lots of new people and enjoying the change. I pretty much live in sunscreen and shower a lot more than I did in Michigan, due to sweating lots because of the heat, but I don’t mind. I traded fresh water for salt water, and snow for sunshine. 🙂

On a completely unrelated note, I played League of Legends today for the first time in a little over a month. Some of the changes are really nice, and Gnar is a lot of fun! If you don’t know what LOL is, it’s a FREE Multiplayer Online Battle Arena. There are a variety of game modes and maps, and over 50 champions to play. Check it out at http://na.leagueoflegends.com/

To date I have 5 drafts, dating as far back as March, that I hope to finish soon. But no promises, my life is busy and I still have the thesis proposal to finish. 😉

Leave a Reply

