Apologies and 4 of July Festivaties

I know I said I would write more, and I haven’t. To those out there who care to read my rantings, tidbits and care when I don’t write, I’m sorry. I currently have 4 entries that I have started, and hopefully I will finish one or two of them soon.

Summer has indeed made it to northern Michigan, and it’s hard to belie that tomorrow is July. Since Thursday it has been about 75-90, and I can generally leaves the widows open all night, and not wake up cold. There has been a steady influx of tourist for the last two weeks, and you can now see more boats on the bay, and most of the summer cottages appear to open and bustling with families enjoying summer vacation.
And the next two weeks town is going to be hopping. This weekend people in the neighborhood have been testing firecrackers, sparklers, and fireworks. The 4th of July around here is a sight to behold! Watching the fireworks over the Little Traverse Bay is breathtaking and exciting. I mean, who doesn’t like watching two fireworks displays simultaneously, from the comfort of their own boat or along the shoreline.

Fourth OF July Events in the Petoskey Area:
Thursday, July 3rd
8pm Petoskey Steel Drum Band; Village of Bay Harbor
Dusk Fireworks Display; Village of Bay Harbor

Friday, July 4th
10am – 5pm Fourth of July Art Fair; Downtown Harbor Springs
10am Parade; Bay View
11am Parade; Village of Bay Harbor
1pm Parade; Downtown Harbor Springs
7pm Old Fashioned Ice Cream Social; Petoskey Bayfront Park
4:00 – 6:00 p.m. Family Fun and Street Performers; Downtown Petoskey
6:00 p.m. Parade; Downtown Petoskey
8pm Fourth Fest Patriotic Celebration; Bay View John Hall Auditorium
Dusk Fireworks; Downtown Petoskey, Bay View, and Harbor Springs (Two shows, watch to see if Harbor Springs or Petoskey goes first)

I’m sure there is more going on in the are that I have forgotten about, or don’t know about. But the list above should be a good start (and I will update it as I head more.)

Leave a Reply

