2014 Oscars

I spent most of today fighting with my computer so that I could watch the Oscar’s tonight, and thankfully I got things sorted out in time. Though there were of course a few technical issues as I was watching (ABC you might want to check things out for next year).

Overall I had a ton of fun sitting on the couch and standing in the kitchen as I watched the Oscar’s and the events before and after. And best of all, I never had to get out of my pajamas. Though next year I hope to be in Hollywood, even if I am just in the bleachers.

Like many I did the NY Times Ballot for this years Oscar nominations. Overall my score wasn’t that good, but then again I voted for a few things I knew wouldn’t win, even if I wanted them to.  Ellen was wonderful and fun! The pizza was a nice touch. Much as I suspected Gravity cleaned up in awards, so I guess I’m going to have to watch it sometime soon.

When they finally got to giving the award for Best Picture my stomach was in knots and my heart was racing. I knew which film I wanted to win, but so far my score hadn’t been very good, and with Gravity cleaning up a lot of the other awards I truly didn’t know what would happen. As Will Smith opened the envelope I (and I’m sure many people in the audience and across the USA held their breath), it was only once he announced 12 Years a Slave the winner of Best Picture did I draw breath (though it was something between a sigh of relief and a shriek of excitement). Needless to say I am excited and relieved that such a powerful movie won this highly honor award, though probably not nearly as excited as Steve McQueen who jumped up and down on stage after his speech.

For Best Director I really thought Steve McQueen had a shot, 12 Years a Slave was compelling and inspiring. However, Alfonso Cuaron took home the award with the multi-award winner Gravity.

For Best Actor in a Leading Role I was slightly disappointed when Matthew McConaughey won, but I wasn’t surprised. McConaughey is an amazing actor and I have enjoyed his work for years, but I wanted Chiwetel Ejiofor to win because his performance was just so powerful.

I was happy when Best Actress in a Leading Role went to Cate Blanchett, as I hoped it would. She is truly a talented and awe-inspiring actress, and I cannot wait to see her full performance in Blue Jasmine. And I loved her shout out to Hollywood about women in film, and the female audience.

Jared Leto won Best Actor in a Supporting Role, he was my second choice, as I tend to prefer Michael Fassbender. (It was during this award that ABC was having issues so I didn’t get to watch the nomination snip-its or Leto’s speech.)

Lupita Nyong’o was first choice for Best Actress in a Supporting Role, but for some reason I didn’t see that happening and instead voted for Jennifer Lawrence. Next time I wont second guess myself. Jennifer is a wonderful actress, but Lupita did an absolutely amazing job and I am so glad she won the award.

Best Original Screenplay went to Her, which I had not heard anything about until tonight (I guess I’ve been living under a rock). My vote was for Blue Jasmine, but I now excited to see both.

Best Adapted Screenplay went to 12 Years a Slave, as I predicted and hoped it would.

This year I didn’t pay any attention to Foreign Language Film Language Films. So I didn’t have any idea who would win. Again my gut instinct would have made me right, but I second guessed myself, oh well. Congrats to Italy on your Oscar winner The Great Beauty.

Frozen of course won Best Animated Feature, which for me was deeply distressing as I am a huge Miyazaki fan and haven’t enjoyed Disney films for years. I haven’t seen Frozen, but I’ve heard mixed reviews on it (and am still not too interested in watching it), while all the reviews I heard about The Wind Rises were good (and I will probably watch over and over and over again). Award or not The Wind Rises is still and animated best in my book.

The Sound Editing award went to Gravity, which I keep hearing was great (but I have yet to see). My vote was for The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug: the music as always was lyrical, the voice overs and other languages were well done, and the sounds that I think would come from an epic adventure were there.

Gravity also won the Visual Effects award,  which I figured would happen. Though I have to be honest, I kinda hoped Star Trek Into Darkness would have won. I loved the alien world the film started (and as any Trekkie would) loved the star-ships, aliens, and tech the film showcased.

As I predicted (because of an article about long shots), Gravity won the award for Film Editing. The more awards Gravity earns the more I think I really must see it (though initially I never had any interest in the film).

I also didn’t pay attention to the Short Film selections, so unfortunately both of my guesses were wrong. But congrats the two films that won, Mr. Hublot (Animated) and Helium (Live Action).

For Best Documentary Short I listened to my gut and got it right, beautiful job The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life. I’m still not sure if I will be able to bring myself to watch such and emotional work, but seeing as music soothes my soul, I will have to bite the bullet at some point.

In my opinion Saving Mr. Banks should have won Original Score, but everyone seemed happy when Gravity took home another award. I will need to listen to the scores of both films to give my final opinion on the matter.

Much to my dismay “Let it Go” from Frozen won Original Song. I liked “Happy” (Despicable Me 2) and “Ordinary Love” (Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom), so much better.

Much to my surprise the Production Design award went to The Great Gatsby, which I will not argue with, as it was a beautifully deigned film. But after all the hype American Hustle received, and its impeccable attention to detail, I figured they would have won.

Best Cinematography (as I predicted) went to Gravity.

The Costume Design award, as I hoped and predicted, went to the Great Gatsby. The clothing though not necessarily historically accurate was absolutely amazing.

For Makeup and Hair-styling there weren’t a lot of options (which to me makes no sense, as all films require make and hair, though not all of it is difficult), but the Dallas Buyers Club won.  I personally voted for The Lone Ranger, though why I did that, I have no idea.

20 Feet from Stardom won the award for Documentary Feature, as I hoped it would. I love music, and I appreciate anyone who follows their passion as much as the artists in this documentary do.

I had hoped that The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug would win the award for Sound Mixing (for many of the reasons I mentioned in Sound Editing). But instead Gravity won yet another award.

In total Gravity (or people who worked on it) won 7 awards. 12 Years a Slave (or people who worked on it) won 3 awards (including the coveted Best Picture). And Dallas Buyers Club (or people who worked on it) won 3 awards. It was a fun-filled and at times emotional night (especially when they took the time to remember all those in Hollywood that died in 2013 and the little bit of 2014. The number was much higher than I wanted to remember). I can’t wait to watch what again next year. Though this time I will do better about watching more films that come out, guess I need to make a list of films to see in 2014.

 

Leave a Reply

