Christmas Special

My family, like most people have been bitten by the Doctor Who bug (my sister has t-shirts, mugs, posters, etc.). I started to watch Doctor Who in 2006/2007, which I am pretty sure is well before the rest of my family got sucked in (though I think dad or mom watched it back in the 70’s or 80’s). My point here isn’t who got hooked first, because really it doesn’t matter, the fact is we all love it (as many people do). As soon as this year’s Christmas Special aired I heard mixed reviews (though most people seemed happy with it). First off I have to say, I enjoyed it. That being said I had a few problems with the episode. My first is that I think they tried to put too much into 90 minutes. In this Christmas Special all of The Doctor’s enemies and most of the major plot-lines converged, with a little extra. For most of the episode my brain felt like I was busy running around in a small enclosed space, with a million things to do, and not nearly enough time to do them in (much like The Doctor does in many episodes). I also found the bit about the clothing, or rather lack there of odd. Honestly I think it was as an excuse for people to see Matt Smith “naked”. Overall I enjoyed the show, but it left me wanting a little more explanation and a little less fan service.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Special

Leave a Reply

